top of page
Search
  • That_nerdy_kid

My first book review/ The Handmaids Tale by Margaret Atwood











Hi, as you can probably tell, this is my first ever blog. So, if i make any mistakes please let me know in the chat section below. If you have any suggestions for books that i can read and review also let me know in the chat below. let's get started.

For those of you who are unaware of the story of The Handmaids Tale, i will give a quick summary before beginning to review the book. I will also be speaking about certain things in the book, and will most likely give away the story. If you have not read the book and do not want to know, i suggest that you stop reading here.


There is a woman named Offred living in the Republic of Gilead (Offred is not her real name, but her real name is not allowed to be used). In Offred's time women have been reduced to nothing more than a means of reproducing, of prolonging the life of the human race. If women are unable to have children, they are sent to work for the rest of their lives in dangerous colonies, where it is not likely they will survive. However, if they are able to have healthy children, they will be saved.


To be completely honest, reading this book was somewhat of a chore, I believe that Margaret Atwood is an incredibly talented writer, but her style just did not appeal to me personally. The way that the character would focus on the most tiny, insignificant things had a way of pulling me straight out of the story. Another thing that i disliked about this book was the fact that i didn't really think that there was much of a storyline. It was just the life of Offred. Now, i did struggle a little to comprehend some things in this book, so i may have missed the story. I have a tradition of never stopping halfway through a book and at some points that was the only thing that stopped me from putting this book down. I rate this book 2/10.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page