top of page
Search
  • That_nerdy_kid

Hour of the Bees by Lindsay Eagar


Hi again, this book didn't take me too long to read, but I haven't had time to write a book report as school is finishing up and there were a few tests and things to revise for as well as my usual homework. As always, it is very likely this review will contain spoilers, so if you want to read this book and don't want some things revealed, I advise you to stop reading now.


The story is that of a 12-year-old girl, Carolina and her family. Along with her mother, father, younger brother and the older half-sister, she goes to their Grandfather's ranch for the summer. The reason for this is that her Grandfather has dementia and can no longer live out on his own on the ranch. They have come to attempt to convince him to move to a home specifically built for patients with dementia. But he doesn't want to leave.


I found this story incredibly far-fetched, I know that it is fiction and not real but the ending ruined the story for me. I was becoming bored throughout the book because apart from the stories of when her Grandfather was young, not much happens. The stories of the past, however, I loved, I did like how it was shown throughout the stories that people who are in proximity to the tree or its bark are immortal, but then how that was then viewed as something that was just made up. The way that throughout the entire book the reader was kept guessing as to if Serge ( the Grandfather) was telling the truth. However, this book ends with 12-year-old Carolina driving her Grandfather in the pouring rain, for three hours, back to his ranch, to show him that it was raining? I might be wrong, but I just didn't understand why she drove him all the way back there. This may just be the fact that it becomes harder for me to focus when I become bored, and this book isn't the type I would usually read, but I just didn't get it. I was quite surprised that in the end, Serge died of a snake bite. I really didn't enjoy much about this book other than the flashbacks, which I loved. I rate this book 2.8/10.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page